NHA rules

  • Alcaponee
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Posts: 3012
  • Thanks: 12

Re: Re: NHA rules

16 years 1 month ago
#57702
Thanks Vee for taking us seriously enough to respond - Not normal practice as far as the authrorities are concerned and I am sure most will agree, we commend you for taking the time to respond.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Bob Brogan
  • Administrator
  • Administrator
  • Posts: 82475
  • Thanks: 6449

Re: Re: NHA rules

16 years 1 month ago
#57704
This is what we get in the uk,seems to be a brief stewards report for each race.
One thing we 100% would not get is a head steward taking time out and posting on a racing forum in the uk


HEXHAM
Monday 20th April 2009

Following a report from Mr Stirk, the Veterinary Officer, that TREEHOUSE, the winner, had been wealed as a result of the rider’s use of the whip the Stewards called before them A.P. Lane the rider, and Mr. Hamilton, the trainers representative. After seeing photo evidence and hearing evidence from Mr Stirk, Mr Lane and Mr Hamilton and viewing the video recording of the race, they found Mr Lane to be in breach under H9 in that his whip use was consistent with minor weals. They suspended A.P. Lane for 5 days, as follows: Tuesday 5th May to Saturday 9th May, inclusive.

The Stewards noted that the winner, TREEHOUSE, had interfered with KORELO (FR), placed second, after the last fence, but after viewing a video recording of the incident, they were satisfied that it neither
involved a riding offence nor improved TREEHOUSE’s placing. They therefore took no further action.

The Stewards enquired into the apparent improvement in form of the winner TREEHOUSE, ridden by A.P. Lane and trained by Mrs. A. Hamilton compared with its previous run at Sedgefield on April 7th where it finished unplaced, beaten approximately 64 lengths. They interviewed the trainers representative who stated that the gelding may have been better suited by cheekpieces today and had received treatment for its back. The Stewards noted his explanation. The Stewards ordered TREEHOUSE to be routine tested.

The Stewards noted that the winner, TREEHOUSE, had interfered with ASTYANAX (IRE), placed third, on the bend turning into the home straight, but after viewing a video recording of the incident, they were satisfied that it neither involved a riding offence nor improved TREEHOUSE’s placing. They therefore took no further action.

The Stewards called before them B. Hughes, the rider of PYRACANTHA, placed second, and enquired into his use of the whip from inside the final two furlongs. Having heard his evidence and viewed the video recording of the race, the Stewards found the rider guilty of improper riding in light of Instruction H9 of the Rules of Racing headed “Use of the Whip” in that he had used his whip with excessive frequency. They cautioned him as to the future use of his whip.

20/04/2009


PONTEFRACT
Monday 20th April 2009

The Stewards called before them Jack Dean, the rider of ANJOMARBA (IRE), placed second, and enquired into the reason why he appeared not to keep straight from the stalls. Having heard his evidence and viewed a video recording of the start, the Stewards found the rider to be in breach of Instruction H17, headed “Jockeys Riding to their Draw” and suspended Jack Dean for 1 day as follows: Monday, 4 May.

The Stewards called before them Sam Hitchcott, the rider of TIME MEDICEAN, the winner, and enquired into his use of the whip inside the final furlong. Having heard his evidence and viewed the video recording of the race, the Stewards found the rider guilty of improper riding in the light of Instruction H9 headed “Use of the Whip” in that he had used his whip in the incorrect place. They suspended him for 1 day as follows: Monday, 4 May.
20/04/2009


WINDSOR
Monday 20th April 2009

On a report from the Starter that NEEDSAMAITE, trained by D.J.S. Ffrench Davis, refused to enter the stalls, the trainer’s attention was drawn to the restriction incurred under Paragraph 8 of the Starting Instructions and informed that NEEDSAMAITE could not run until the day after it had passed a stalls test.

The Stewards called before them Jamie Spencer, the rider of THOMAS BAINES (USA) which finished unplaced, and asked him to explain why he appeared to ease his mount in the final stages. Having heard his evidence and reviewed a video recording of the race, the Stewards found Jamie Spencer to be in breach of Rule 158 in that he allowed the colt to coast home approaching the winning line. They cautioned Jamie Spencer as to his future conduct in races.

The Stewards noted that BREACH OF PEACE (USA) had interfered with SUNCELEB (IRE) both unplaced, inside the final furlong but after viewing a video recording of the incident, they were satisfied that it did not involve a riding offence. They therefore took no further action.

The Stewards noted that SUNCELEB (IRE) had interfered with IMPLICATION, both unplaced, inside the final furlong but after viewing a video recording of the incident, they were satisfied that it did not involve a riding offence. They therefore took no further action.

The Stewards noted that SINGBELLA and WINTERFELL, both unplaced, suffered interference approaching the first bend due to general bunching. They therefore took no further action.

The Stewards noted that SON OF MY HEART (USA) had interfered with ROCKY HEIGHTS (IRE) both unplaced, inside the final furlong, but after viewing a video recording of the incident, they were satisfied that it did not involve a riding offence. They therefore took no further action.

The Stewards noted that STRONG STORM (USA) had interfered with DALRYMPLE (IRE) who in turn interfered with ABULHARITH, all unplaced, on the bend three furlongs from home, but after viewing a video recording of the incident, they were satisfied that it did not involve a riding offence. They therefore took no further action.

The Stewards considered the running of the winner, CHIBERTA KING, ridden by Willliam Buick, and trained by A.M. Balding, which had never previously been placed.
They interviewed the trainer, who stated that the gelding appeared to have benefited from being gelded during the winter. They forwarded his comments to the BHA in compliance with Instruction H19 of the Rules of Racing, so that the performance of CHIBERTA KING in his earlier races could be reviewed.

The Stewards held an enquiry under Rule 153 into possible interference approaching the two furlong marker. They found that FIRST SPIRIT, ridden by Sophie Doyle, had interfered with TROPICAL DUKE (IRE) ridden by Martin Dwyer, both unplaced. They considered that the interference was caused by careless riding in that she manoeuvred to her right when not sufficiently clear. They suspended Sophie Doyle for 1 day as follows: Monday, 4th May.


20/04/2009


WOLVERHAMPTON
Monday 20th April 2009

The Stewards held an enquiry under Rule 171 (iii) into two possible instances of interference. In the first incident, in the penultimate furlong, they found that TILOS GEM (IRE), ridden by Joe Fanning, placed second, had interfered with winner, LARKHAM (USA), ridden by Seb Sanders. They considered that the interference was caused by careless riding, in that Fanning had allowed his mount to drift to the right without sufficient correction. They cautioned him as to his future conduct in races.

In the second incident, in the final furlong, the Stewards found that LARKHAM (USA) had interfered with TILOS GEM (IRE). They considered that the interference was caused by careless riding, in that Sanders had allowed his mount to drift to the left without sufficient correction. As the interference had not improved LARKHAM (USA)’s placing, the Stewards ordered the placings to remain unaltered. They cautioned Sanders as to his future conduct in races.

The Stewards called before them Catherine Gannon, the rider of FORWARD FELINE (IRE), placed second, and enquired into her use of the whip from two furlongs out. Having heard her evidence and viewed the video recording of the race, the Stewards found the rider guilty of improper riding, in the light of Instruction H9 of the Rules of Racing, headed “Use of the Whip”, in that she had used her whip with excessive frequency. They suspended her for one day as follows: Monday, 4th May.

The Stewards held an enquiry under Rule 153 into possible interference inside the final furlong. They found that the winner, CECILY, ridden by Seb Sanders, had interfered with RAIMOND RIDGE (IRE), ridden by M C Geran, placed third. They considered that the interference was caused by careless riding, in that Sanders had allowed his horse to drift to the left without correction. They suspended him for two days as follows: Monday, 4th and Tuesday, 5th May.

The Stewards called before them Seb Sanders, the rider of the winner, CECILY, and enquired into his use of the whip inside the final furlong. Having heard his evidence and viewed the video recording of the race, the Stewards found the rider guilty of improper riding, in the light of Instruction H9 of the Rules of Racing, headed “Use of the Whip”, in that he had used his whip with excessive frequency. They suspended him for one day as follows: Wednesday, 6th May.


20/04/2009

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • oscar
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Posts: 4128
  • Thanks: 327

Re: Re: NHA rules

16 years 1 month ago
#57712
Yep tnx Hib..Vee Moodly is different class!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • rob faux
  • Topic Author
  • New Member
  • New Member
  • Thanks: 0

Re: Re: NHA rules

16 years 1 month ago
#57774
Having had a chance to digest the response from Vee(for which I am grateful)and I agree with a lot of the "valid reversals",a lot of which a form studier should factor in.
Perhaps he would be good enough to comment on the following:
a)are the cases investigated not all so extreme that the findings are worthless.....should the variation in runs not be narrowed? 40 MR points or 20kgs or 10 lgths would not seem to make the point?
b)How can the form studing punter be protected against a horse,entered in a fixed conditions race,handicapped a certainty,running 5lengths off it's rating only to hear later in an interview that the horse needed the run badly and was only 75% fit.That is not a fair factor for the punter to factor in and the horse may as well have been "pulled up".I am not blaming trainers for preparing horses best for themselves,within the rules, but the punter needs protection too! My point is ,if the jockey caused the same result he would be warned off!
Perhaps some consideration needs to be given to this as this creates an "inside info" advantage which is not good for the overall perception of racing.
In the last few months the amount of horses winning these plate and condition races,completely out at the weights, suggest that, either the handicappers are getting it wrong,or too many lead up runs are not truely on merit!
Racing is only going to survive if new generation punters keep coming into the game,and there is no shortage of the gambling instinct in the youngsters,as the poker explosion in SA proves.Having spoken to a number of these young guys at Poker tournaments, they do not trust horseracing,and this needs to be urgently addressed and the protections widely advertised!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Time to create page: 0.093 seconds